Ultimate Transformers News Source for Combiner Wars, Robots in Disguise, Age of Extinction, G1, Generations, Third Party, Reviews, Comics, Games, & More!
TFormers Transformers News and Reviews

facebook twitter Google+ youtube podcast rss

Hubcap - Movie - Figure

Hubcap

You can tell that there are classic car and hot rod lovers on the TF design team. Every so often, we get an interpretation of such a vehicle, and it normally goes over very well. This time, they go for the hot rod motif with teh Scout class figure Hubcap.

Bio

Hubcap never liked the way Brimstone pushed other robots around, and he never made any effort to hide his disapproval. The two robots have clashed more times than either of them can count. Now their rivalry has moved to the urban drag strips of Earth. Brimstone may consider himself king of the road, but Hubcap won’t give up until the so-called king is just another wreck.


Strength     
Intelligence
Speed
Endurance
Rank
Courage
Fireblast
Skill

Robot Mode

Along with the orange that can be found on the outer edges and back, Hubcap also uses 2 shades of gray on his body work. You'll note a small Autobot insignia on his chest. The head sculpt is simplistic, yet matches with the rest of the body.

As with a majority of the Scouts, Hubcap has no weaponry. That's alright, because he has plenty of moves to match. Articulation is high on this figure and continues the positive trend that's been found with the Scouts.

Articulation

Feet:Pin hinge, 90 degree bend
Knees:Pin hinge, 90 degree bend. Pinned above knees for lower leg rotation
Hips: Dual pin hinges, 135 degree rotation and 90 degree 4 step spread
Waist:Stationary
Shoulders:Dual pin hinges, unlimited rotation and 45 degree spread
Elbows:Ball joint, 90 degree bend
Head:Ball joint, unlimited rotation and 15 degree tilt

Due to the kibble on his shoulder, spread is hampered.

Robot Mode Specs

Height:4.38in/111.3mm
Width:2.75in/69.9mm
Depth:1.38in/35.1mm
Supplied accessories:N/A

Transformation

Fold the feet up. Position the rear glass of the alt mode to flush with the rear end on the legs. Lift up on the chest and conceal the head. Fold in the knees so that the roof of the cab flushes with the windshield. Push the shoulders up and in to complete.

Alt Mode

Hubcap's alt mode resembles a modded 1930s era Ford Business Coupe. The body work is a very bright orange with blacked out windows. Mods include the exposed headers with side pipes. Interestingly enough, Hubcap has, well, no hubcaps, going for the exposed rims.

I'm always a sucker for a classic car and I have to admit that I haven't been able to put Hubcap down since I got him. He's simple, but so alluring. Both modes were well executed as well. I think I just found my favorite Scout of all time.

Alt Mode Specs

Length: 3.88in/98.6mm
Wheelbase:2.63in/66.8mm
Width:1.88in/47.8mm
Height:1.63in/41.4mm
Scale Ratio:N/A
Wheels: 4 rotating
Detailed cockpit:N/A

Verdict

Robot Mode: Nice proportions and very well articulated
Alt Mode:Clean and classic
Overall:He might be simple, but he's definitely a jewel.

Class:Scout

MSRP:$9

ReviewerBlitzwing  
DateSeptember 11th 2010  
Score 10 stars (10 out of 10)  
Reads8828
LinkHubcap via Movie Database  


Image Gallery 3


« Back to Reviews Index


Facebook Social Comments


last 10 shown - scroll to view more   TFormers Member Comments
Bumblemus
2010-09-13
11:21 pm

I have mine standing besides WFC Optimus 
Optimizzy
2010-09-13
11:07 pm

I think I may be online but I want to get him and paint him to look like Optimus Prime from one of the Devils Due comic crossovers. I know he was a pick up but I really think it would work. Any thoughts? 
Breaker
2010-09-12
12:18 am

I like the way this figure looks but I cant get past the name. I know he's not intended to be an update of G1 Hubcap, but I still wish he was at least the right kind of orange. 
Jason X
2010-09-12
12:12 am

Black w/ flames of any kind would just be Big Daddy redux. I like his color scheme just fine. It's interesting to me that for the last couple years the Scouts have been by far the best TF's coming out. It seems that whoever designs the other classes feel the need to get over-complicated and... read more 
monstergrotusque
2010-09-11
7:48 pm

I have Hubcap On display side by side in robot mode with my G1 Laser Rod JOLT. He's more a homage to him than anything else in my opinion. Hub cap....i mean...JOLT...is an awesome figure.Glad i bought him. 
deceptikhan
2010-09-11
7:23 pm

Keep seeing this guy, but Walmart wants 9.00 for him/them(scouts)! There was one left today, but i got Starwars Clone Wars today (havent bought those since last year. Im catchin up! lol) Anyways, this review on how 5 star "perfect" he is makes me want him. BUT i have ideas for him ... read more 
Outrider74
2010-09-11
7:23 pm

I believe he's meant to be a '37 Ford from the looks of the grille. But I cant help being disappointed at the plain jane wheel design and solid color of the car. Seems that he's just begging for a black/with flames repaint---preferably purple flames fading to blue instead of the traditio... read more 
Giant Robot
2010-09-11
6:57 pm

It's... It looks like a mere year after the movie was released, I may finally buy something associated with it. 
»  Read ALL Forums Posts & Replies
»  Post a Comment on This Story!  (membership required)








Transformers Reviews
More Than Meets The Eye #42
Generations IDW Comic Book
Windblade (2nd Series) #4
Generations IDW Comics Review
The Transformers #42
Generations IDW Comic Book
The Transformers: Windblade Vol.2 #3
Combiner Wars Part 5 IDW Comic Book
Streetwise
Generations Combiner Wars Deluxe Action Figure
First Aid
Generations Combiner Wars Deluxe Action Figure
Transformers Vs. GI Joe #7
Generation 1 IDW Comic Book
Rook
Generations Combiner Wars Deluxe Action Figure
Blades
Generations Combiner Wars Deluxe Action Figure
Cyclonus
Generations Combiner Wars Voyager Class Figure
More Reviews ]
Write a Review ]













ENI
About
Entertainment News International (ENI) is the popular culture network for fans all around the world. Get the scoop on all the popular comics, games, movies, toys, and more every day!
Sites
Action Figures
Classifieds
Entertainment
Marvel
 
Podcasts
Star Wars
Superheroes
Transformers
Links
Support
© 2015 Entertainment News International - All images, trademarks, logos, video, brands and images used on this website are registered trademarks of their respective companies and or owners. All Rights Reserved. Data has been shared for news reporting purposes only. All content sourced by fans, online websites, and or other fan community sources. Entertainment News International is not responsible for reporting errors, inaccuracies, omissions, and or other liablities related to news shared here. We do our best to keep tabs on infringements. If some of your content was shared by accident. To have it removed right away, please [ Contact Us ].